Tags

Do I contradict myself?/ Very well then I contradict myself,/ (I am large, I contain multitudes.)
– Walt Whitman

I am no poet or even a poetry lover, but when this quote came through my quote of the day widget, I was reminded of why I love both Whitman and Emerson. They get me. They don’t even know me, but they get me.

I seem to find more out about myself every day. Sometimes it’s good and sometimes rather unpleasant, but it’s always enlightening. And I better understand myself after each session of soul-searching. What I love about this quote is that there’s no apology.

I say “I’m sorry” about a million times a day. Sometimes it’s good and necessary, but sometimes it’s not. Should I apologize for my personality? My quirks? Should I apologize for the inadequacies I alone feel? Every situation is different, so I can’t make a blanket judgment, but sometimes I think I need to take a step back and appreciate who I am. No apologies.

I know my own layers of complexity better than I know anyone else’s, and I nod vigorously with Whitman’s parenthetical statement of who he is. I feel that. I do contain multitudes, and the more I learn about myself the more convinced I am that there’s more to know.

So my goal today is to embrace the diversity inside me. To love and accept who I am with all my contradictions, inadequacies, and quirks. To not apologize for the depth and complexity of me. Thanks, Whitman–I needed the reminder.

