Tags

, , ,

Layer Cake Quilt

Layer Cake Quilt

Friday my mom came for a sewing day to piece a quilt top. Mom had bought a quilt pattern book and our particular pattern was called the Buttermilk Layer Cake Quilt. The book also included a corresponding recipe for each quilt pattern. We decided that it would be fun to do both. And I was excited about the fabric we chose.

We started the day and got all the pieces cut (240 small rectangles plus some larger strips) and started sewing. And we sewed some more. And some more. By the early afternoon, we had all the small rectangles sewn into strips, but when we laid them on the floor, we realized we had some larger issues. The strips were not the same length–at all. Luckily, Mom knows how to do some creative adjusting to make the strips the same length. I promise I tried to be helpful, but by the end of the day Mom was merely fixing my mistakes, so I took over baking the cake.

Quilt Closeup

Quilt Closeup

Recently, my cooking/baking experiences have not been turning out well. I don’t know what’s up, but I can’t seem to cook/bake anything that I normally can. Can I blame it on pregnancy brain? Anyhow, we baked the cake (it turned out a little too moist), and when I tried to layer it, bad things happened. The frosting was too thick and the cake crumbled all over. It only made it worse that it was on a cake pedestal. Apparently it still tasted okay, but the presentation was not pretty. At all.

But guess what? It was a pretty funny day. We laughed constantly at all our mistakes, the mistakes in the pattern and recipe, at the cake mishap, and the fact that we’re aren’t planning to make either the cake or the quilt again anytime soon.

