Tags

, ,

The Pink Chair

The Pink Chair

Chair Dyeing Adventure

Chair Dyeing Adventure

Chad was helping a friend move, and came home with this chair for me. It was very thoughtful of him since he knew I liked chairs that rock. It’s pretty comfy, and I’ve spent a lot of time in it so far.

But it’s pink. Or at least it was. I read on the internet that you can paint upholstery, so I gave it a try. We were trying to match the color of the front room, but something was not quite right. Upon doing more research, I realized that you can’t paint velvety fabric. Oops.

But you can dye it. So I pulled out the dry-wall sander and started going after the chair to rough up the fabric enough to accept the dye. I’m sure I looked pretty funny sanding an upholstered chair. I had to giggle a few times at the whole thing.

Attempt number two came out looking something like this.

Unfortunately, in real life it’s more of a burgundy than a dark brown even after a second coat. I only wish it looked as brown as this picture. And I do like it better than the pink it was. But it was free right? So I’ll take it.

But this project may not be over permanently…

