Tags

, , , , , ,

Last month on U Create, the featured tutorial was a quilted table runner. I immediately wanted to make one because I’ve been thinking for about a year now that I needed something on the top of my piano.

You see, we have these cool hand-carved stone giraffe families, and while they’re intricate and beautiful, the bottoms are not very flat. So when you walk by, they tend to rock a little. Part of what I love about giraffes are their long, delicate features. So you might imagine that I don’t want them to fall over and snap a neck. I don’t think I’ll be making it back to South Africa anytime soon to get a replacement.

So I was excited to try it out. My living room is decorated in cocoa brown, aqua, and rusty orange. I went to my fabric stash, and to my surprise, I couldn’t find a single fabric in a rusty color (what? it’s an “always color”). So, I decided to create my own.

I took muslin, fabric medium, acrylic paint, and a rubber stamp, and got to work. I really like how the fabric turned out (much better than my first attempt). I totally meant to take a photo of the whole stamped piece, but forgot in my eagerness to get quilting. So for now you’ll have to imagine how pretty this was by the smaller strips. But you may see a whole piece again soon, as I liked it enough to want to create something from another piece.
With my fabric selected, I got to work and created this fun piece. I really like it, and my giraffes will be glad they’re a little more stable and cushioned. (The elephants seemed to like it as well. Perhaps they need one too?)


giveaways
Make it Yours @ My Backyard Eden

