Tags

,

Words get me in trouble all the time. If I could live in my head, I’d never get in trouble, because everything makes sense there. It’s just when I try to get them to come out that they all end up in a jumble. Writing is better than speaking somehow. I can at least get most of the emotion out, and most of the time it makes sense. But speaking is a lost cause.

I found this quote, and it sums up my thoughts perfectly:

“I think like a genius, I write like a distinguished author, and I speak like a child.”

~Vladamir Nabokov

The fact that he can state the conundrum so clearly is proof that he’s miles ahead of me (and just for the record, I don’t claim to be genius or distinguished. He just got the progression right). Whenever I try to speak, the jumble that comes out of my mouth–especially when I’m trying to convey anything with a hint of emotion behind it. Chad confirmed this today when he said I was the “queen of open mouth, insert foot.” Sigh.

Maybe it’s better if I just say nothing from now on. I could write everything down, but that would take a lot of time. So if the next time you say something to me I just stare at you, please know that I’m saying exactly what I wanted to say, just in my head.

