Tags

, , , ,

Onesie refashion, shade clothing tank top, women's tank top refashiononesie, tank top refashion, baby clothesMany of you may be aware that the Shade clothing company just closed. I’ve been a fan of their shirts for a while now. So while it’s sad, I had the opportunity to go to a closeout sale and got some great oversized shirts for refashions for $2 each. I love the quality fabrics, and am excited to do lots of things with them.

This onesie started from a women’s XL tank top with the contrast binding and placket. I loved the colors, so I grabbed one and thought I’d try making a onesie.

I traced a onesie Saige is just growing into, then cut the front and back pieces from the front and back of the shirt, using the existing neckline as the neck pieces for the onesie. I used the existing bottom hem for the hems on the sleeves. Then I took the pieces of trim from around the armholes of the tank top and sewed them around the legs. Insert snaps, and voila! A one-of-a-kind $2 onesie to keep Saige warm. Of course, when I tried it on her, I realized that it’s a bit bigger than the original, so it doesn’t quite fit her yet, but give her a month or two and it’ll be just right.

