It’s hard to believe that another year has started. This past year has gone so quickly, and has been one of the best years of my life. I can’t describe how amazingly right being a mom feels.

Have you ever had one of your childhood dreams come true, only to realize that it wasn’t all you imagined it would be? Before Saige was born, I was a little concerned that I’d be left a little wanting–that motherhood wouldn’t be everything I’d fantasized for all those years. I held onto a job I didn’t love just in case I needed something to fulfill me.

You see, I’ve been watching one of the most amazing women ever (and I don’t say that lightly) be an incredible mom my whole life. I’ve seen how much joy she gets out of it. I’ve seen her worry at times. I’ve seen her stand her ground; I’ve even seen her soften her resolve at some point. I’ve seen and learned so much from her. But I’ve also seen other women not love it so much. Where would I fall?

As I held my baby girl in my arms the first time, I knew I loved her. But I didn’t know how much. I’m still finding out. I love being the one she wants first thing in the morning. I love learning and growing with her. I love knowing her sweet spirit better than anyone else on earth. I love seeing her discover things and figure them out. I love the little eyebrow raise she does when she finds something particularly interesting and puzzling. I even love the dirty diapers, the spitup, and the crying.

I love that I feel completely and utterly fulfilled in my role as a mother. I have so much to learn, but I’m excited. I’m over-the-moon in love with my calling, my job, and my privilege to be a mom. It’s a childhood dream come true.

