Tags

, , , , ,

Several years ago, I found a beautiful skirt with instructions in Blueprint magazine (now defunct, sadly). It was a combination of two of my favorite things: a wrap skirt with a bustle. Dreamy.

I tore out the picture, bought some fabric, and kept both around for years. I’d lose track of the photo, then find it again at the oddest times. At the moment, I can’t find it. I’m sure it will surface when I don’t need it anymore. :)

Anyway, I decided that I finally needed to make the skirt since I’d bought the fabric to do it way back when I found the magazine photo and it was taking up a lot of space in the fabric closet. So I pulled it out, cut and hemmed the yardage (it’s literally a couple yards of fabric tied around your waist with a cool drape), and then eagerly tried it on. I really like how it looks.

One small problem: I can’t walk in it. It’s too tight around the ankles to get in a normal-sized step, and I definitely need to be able to do that while carrying a baby. I think the skirt was meant to be a party skirt. You know the kind of party where you stand still a lot and then sit down for dinner and then go home. I need my skirts to be more functional. So instead of keeping it around in case I might need to someday attend such a soiree, I think it’s time for me to do a redesign. Stay tuned.

