Tags

, ,

I learned how to crochet when I was pretty young. My sister and I would carry around crochet hooks and skeins of yarn and crochet little things like pot holders and such. I think both my grandmas encouraged it.

At the age of 10, I crocheted my brother a baby blanket. It’s probably one of the most hideous creations ever. I started little, then got bored and went with a double stitch at some point. I also went with lots of gaudy colors. Some day I’ll have to take a photo of it.

The point of that story is that I thought I knew how to crochet. I looked at this pattern and thought, “I can make that.” Well, I could, but it took a while and a refresher course. Every stitch I thought I knew turned out to be something else (except for the chain–I got that one).

So my stitches were wrong, which I could have dealt with, but the bigger problem was that my headband kept curling up. Obviously (see below). After several attempts (some shown, others unraveled or trashed), I think I’m getting the hang of it again. I had to include the photo of my attempts as my way of chuckling at myself.

