Tags

My Saige loves books. I couldn’t be more proud. I’ve been reading to her since the day we came home from the hospital, and we’ve made it through an impressive list (I think). One of the first words that she connected to an object was “book.”  We asked her to go get a book, and she did. Twice (so we knew it wasn’t a fluke). There are bookshelves in her room, and she loves pulling up and “organizing” the books. She pulls all the books off of her shelves, then opens them and enjoys the story. She plays with them by herself and then brings them to me for further inspection (and help opening some of the trickier flaps).

One day I checked out the selection she pulled from the shelvesand found: The Epic of Gilgamesh, The Poetic Edda, Theogany, and Dante’s The Inferno. Pretty heavy reading for a 10-month old. I couldn’t help but chuckle.

Then the other day I caught her catching up on a good novel (we’re actually reading this one —Bridge to Terabithia–together right now, and it makes me weep every time). She opens the books, turns pages, and even pretends to read. Too bad it’s upside down. Ahh, I love this girl!

