Tags

, ,

It’s funny how time flies when you’re busy. With the garden bearing lots of veggies lately, I’ve been working on putting up some marinara. And since Chad no longer wants to eat store-bought stuff because this recipe is so much better, I’ve been doing a batch or two every couple of days (as I get enough tomatoes).

That makes for one tired lady. It also makes for a stinky house, which drives me crazy. Garlic and onions are great in recipes, but leaving them boiling/simmering for hours really gets to me. When I was pregnant with Saige, I made marinara and salsa and it took a while before I could eat either. I never could eat the salsa because the smell got to me. But here I am doing it again. :)

But stinky house and tiredness aside, it’s nice to be able to use the veggies I grew in the recipes–it kind of makes me proud. It’s good to know that I won’t have to buy marinara all year (or at least almost all year) and that my time and effort in growing and canning/freezing is appreciated.

I still have salsa, peaches, and jam to do this season (I WISH the peaches came from my yard…maybe next year) which will be a lot of work, but it will be so nice to have those jars lined up full of summer goodness.

