Tags

, , , , ,

Have you ever read Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury? If not, you really should. It revolutionized the way I thought about life long ago, and it still continues to inspire me.

I’ve long loved the magic and awe of the boys’ summer. Where is my own wonder at being alive? And where is my yellow Ticonderoga pencil when I experience a first? I want to orchestrate the rising of the sun, too.

In many ways, I feel like this summer in Colorado is my Dandelion Wine summer. Mine to enjoy, to discover, and to learn from. Mine to embrace and shape, even (or maybe especially) though I’m not in my comfort zone. We even began this journey (moved) on the first day of summer.

And despite experiencing good days and bad, the color of my experience this summer will be one hue and one taste–a collective (and distinctive) recipe that I determine one day at a time.

So here’s to the first time moving with kids, to farmers’ markets, to antiquing, to summer movies outside, to jumping into a cold pool with my little family (okay, that one may not happen), to sunsets in Writer’s Vista park, to new lifelong friends, and to all the other wonderful things that we’re planning and doing. It’s going to be a beautiful summer.

