Tags

, , , ,

Sometime in October (in between Halloween costumes and another project I’d started) I was sewing along and knocked the timing out of my sewing machine. Total bummer. You can’t sew a stitch. So after a week or so I called a few places to see what they’d charge to fix it. $120-$150 was the norm, but after some convincing I found one place that would do JUST the timing for $50.

Back in Utah I found a place that fixed my timing and did a tune-up for $35, so $50 still seemed high to me. I contemplated waiting until we moved to get it fixed. I even looked up fixing it myself on the internet, but after playing a little bit it seemed too complicated. Chad looked at it and tried to figure it out, but in the end decided not to play with it too much so we didn’t exacerbate the problem.  My machine sat for another week or so and when Chad mentioned that we will probably be here longer than anticipated (again) I decided that I did want to get it fixed and not wait.

Another few weeks went by, and I finally gathered up the machine and my kids and headed for the repair shop. After wrangling everything into the store, I told a sweet lady my problem and she plugged in my machine, threaded it up, and told me she didn’t see anything wrong. What? I knew there was a problem, but lo and behold, my machine was working beautifully.

I was shocked. She suggested that perhaps I’d threaded it wrong (I promise I know how to thread my machine, and I’d rethreaded it several times in my attempts to adjust it myself) and that they offered free classes to help me get to know my machine. Um, I’m pretty familiar by now. But instead of saying anything I just thanked her and gathered my stuff and my pride and went back to my car.

My machine did not work before that. I don’t know what happened or why, but I am grateful for my little miracle and that I didn’t have to spend the extra money around Christmastime.

So we’re finally back to sewing, and although I’m hesitant and afraid that I’ll knock the timing out again and have to go back to the shop, it feels good to be back.

