Tags

,

Over the years, we’ve put a lot of time, energy, money, and love into this house. I think there’s something sentimental about your first house. Something liberating.

IMG_5923

I spent the first 10 years after leaving home moving from apartment to apartment in a rather nomadic fashion. I had few belongings, because I didn’t want to move them. I didn’t believe in decorating because I was limited in what I was allowed to do and I didn’t want to invest the time or money into something I’d leave (and have to move) later on.

I married a man with vision though. He can see the potential and dream up crazy cool things. And he makes them happen.  When we bought this house I loved it already, but I didn’t realize how much we’d update, improve, and imagine. We’ve literally ripped up, replaced, or refinished something in every facet imaginable from one corner to the next both inside and out.

For instance, here’s Chad chipping away the weeping mortar from the exterior of the house. Yes, the whole house with a hammer and chisel.P1010609

This wall? It was a weekend-turned-several-month-project. P1010816One day I was sitting on the front porch when a neighbor I’d never met before stopped and commented on our “wall of love.” He’d watched us out there day after day working on that wall and wanted to tell us how cool he thought it was that we’d done it together. Honestly, Chad did most of it (with the help of many friends), but this neighbor was right that it was a project that not only brought us closer, but cemented our commitment to making the house our home.

Everywhere I turn I see something we’ve changed or improved. There’s a little love in every corner.

IMG_5924

And now we’re leaving it for two years with the distinct possibility that we’ll never come back permanently. But I’m okay with that. Love may have built this house, but we’ve learned how to make a home, and that goes with us.

