Tags

, ,

It’s been a little over two weeks since the move happened. We made it. But things have taken (and are still taking) longer than expected to settle down. Have you ever noticed how many things have to happen when you move? Aside from packing up EVERYTHING you own, hauling it to a new location, and then finding a new home for it, you have all the bills (first and last month chaos for two locations), things that need to be set up or disconnected, and so much cleaning.

Let me up front say that this is a great house. It’s got a great layout, in a fabulous neighborhood, and it just feels right for our family. But it’s been an interesting experience cleaning it. My hands hurt from the cleaning, and I’m not done yet. But with every wall that I finish and every black scuff mark that comes off the doors and baseboards, I know that I’m making this house my own.

It was left pretty dirty. And as I continue to clean away the spills and marks from past renters I find myself frustrated and pleased at the same time. Frustrated that the owners didn’t care enough to make sure it was clean and things were in good working order, yet satisfied that our hard work is making such a difference. I might be the only one who notices it, but the disappearance of the dark liquid stains on the ceiling (?) signifies that I care and that it’s becoming my home. And for right now, it’s as important to me as decorating or creating.

Moving twice exactly two months apart was harder on me than I expected. I’m glad to know we’ll be here for a couple of years so I can feel that sense of permanence again.

Mostly though, I feel grateful. Grateful to my Heavenly Father for His guidance and help through all of this. I’m amazed and humbled by the loving service provided time and again to our family. Between help with childcare, cleaning, people on both ends loading and unloading our belongings, last-minute desserts with dear friends, and an invitation to Easter dinner the day after we arrived, I have felt loved and watched over. We are where we are supposed to be. We are loved, and we are so grateful to all of you who have supported us over the past few months.

