Tags

, , , , ,

Refashioned kids' shirt

I found this basic white buttondown at Goodwill for $.99, and I don’t think it had ever been worn before. I was thrilled. But once I put it on Saige, it was way too baggy and she wouldn’t leave it tucked in so she just looked unkempt.

Refashioned kids' shirt

Refashioned kids' shirt

So with a little elastic and minimal effort, I turned it into a flattering little top that’s also a bit unique. It was so easy!

  1. Measure your cutie’s where you want the elastic to hit and subtract 2 inches. Cut that much elastic. (Her “waist” was 21″ so I cut 19″ of elastic.)
  2. Mark on the inside of your shirt where you want the elastic using a fabric marker or tailor’s chalk.
  3. Sew the elastic on, starting about 1/2″ from either side of the placket and stretching the elastic as you go. I used 1″ elastic for a wider cinch, but you could use any size elastic. I also did three rows of stitching.

Done! And now it’s one of my favorite shirts she owns.

Refashioned kids' shirt

Voila! Instantly cuter. Now if only I hadn’t taken phone photos…
Refashioned kids' shirt

